Skiing Towards The 2018 Olympic Games

Skiing

My results recently have been pretty up and down but unfortunately more often down than up.

Tour-de-ski_logo-16x9

The Tour De Ski and the Scandinavian cup in Falun this weekend were no exception to this. The tour started off with a 4 km skate prologue, this wasn’t too bad. I finished 81st out of 93, 55secs or around 9% behind. I was hoping for a little better.

10891724_10205809507022037_2218080606999916089_n

The second stage, the 15 km classic pursuit was a rough one. After time bonuses were given i was stating 1:10 behind the winner. The first 5k was great, I felt like super man and was skiing with, and in front of, quite a few people. After about 10k it was pretty clear I wasn’t actually superman and ended up struggling home in second last just on the cusp of the 15% behind, cut off limit.

photo-3

It was good to have these lads and the Brit boys around for some company thats for sure!

wpid-20150104_131047

There was then a rest day followed by a skate sprint in Switzerland. The Brits and I were pretty stoked to leave Germany, the rain and bad snow to get back to cold, sunny Switzerland and its hard packed snow. The sprint course actually had a jump and a couple of rollers thrown into it on the day before the race which was a bit of fun but unfortunately after the majority of the girls and other stereotypical scroggin-eaters winged about it all was smoothed out. This was one of the races I went a little better in, I finished 58th but still not that close (4-5 secs) to the Top 30 result I’ve beenĀ hoping for.

B6dc3dGIYAEpl2A

I then jumped on a plane to Sweden for a Scandinavian Cup on the World Championships course and a couple of days later I was racing in a 15k skate. This was probably but debatabley the worst race of my season so far, I was almost 6 minutes back and way down the list. I just skied so slowly.

The next day was a classic sprint where I was hoping to regain some of my dignity but that definitely didn’t happen. I started out slowly and tired again, just like the day before but only this time I decided to face plant it on a corner to make my race even better!! I ended up a long way back nowhere near the top 30… So unfortunately the turn around of form I was looking for hasn’t come yet and doesn’t really look like its on the horizon but maybe now with a couple of weeks of training etc I might be able to start to ski a little faster. Or at least learn to stay upright on my skis!

3 responses

  1. Reblogged this on Australian XC Skiing.

    January 11, 2015 at 07:29

    • Helen L'Huillier

      Thanks for the blog, Phil. Paul and I are enjoying your interesting and candid reports. Hang in there. I’m sure good things are not too far away. Helen L’H

      January 11, 2015 at 20:11

  2. oh well, if they’d left the rollers in and the jump you’d have nailed the race. Keep working hard xx

    January 11, 2015 at 10:03

Leave a Reply

