Skiing Towards The 2018 Olympic Games

Just another boring blog post…

This year I planned to keep the blog regularly updated and was sort of successful for a while but then like every year, got slack! There just hasn’t been much positive stuff happening with my skiing lately. I raced two World Cups, both in Davos, Switzerland, due to lack of snow in La Clausaz and neither were Awesome. They were a big step up from Lillehammer WC and neither were bad results but I was still 3 and 4 seconds respectively outside the top 30. This would have been pretty pleasing in previous years but it feels I’ve gotten stuck at this bar being just a few seconds outside. And while it’s just a few seconds it’s still a substantial step to be on the other side of those few seconds, so it’s been a pretty frustrating and unmotivating few weeks that’s for sure. And what doesn’t help, is I’ve been skiing around the same 5k loop of trucked in snow at Davos the whole time. Brrrr!

This year I put so much more into training and preparation, also making sure I trained “smarter” and not just harder. I tested directly before the season and came out fitter, stronger and faster then ever before so on paper I should be skiing faster. I also still feel like I’m in good form and haven’t gotten too fat just yet (that happens at some point every season) so hopefully there is still some good results to come but its hard not too loose faith sometimes…

I’m now in Oberstdorf at Monty’s place preparing for the Tour De ski and finally we have received a bunch of snow, so happy days!

2014-12-24 16.50.21

Couple of pics of Davos…

2014-12-21 16.44.17

Did a session in Oberstdorf with Monty’s team and finally some longer tracks and good snow!!

2014-12-31 09.17.43

Pic of the 200m ski flying hill in Oberstdorf, you can see how big it is compared to the chair lift on the left hand side…

2014-12-31 10.26.26

Here’s to hoping for some fast skiing to get me through the tour!

One response

  1. Go Phil!

    January 2, 2015 at 12:33

Leave a Reply

