Skiing Towards The 2018 Olympic Games

U/23 World Champs and Sochi World Cup

Well I’ve been a bit slack with the old Blog updates lately despite a fair bit going on…

U/23 World Champs were the first major event. The races there in Liberec were ok although nothing super special in terms of results. The classic sprint was a little disappointing as I was a bit further back than I would have liked but the 15km skate, I was happy with. I managed to work fairly hard throughout the whole race, splitting fairly close to Alex for most it. I then had to fly to Russia and missed the Skiathlon which I wasn’t too worried about as 30kms doesn’t really suit me…

The Sochi World Cup races in Russia were the first of the AUS teams Olympic selection races so naturally enough this was pretty important and the levels of nerves were pretty high!

Sochi the boys

My preparation wasn’t really helped by a bought of food poisoning four days out either but that passed reasonably quickly. Going into the sprint on the Friday I wasn’t feeling good after the food poisoning but with a bit more rest I must have come goodish… The course was the toughest sprint course I have ever raced on so pacing it was so important! I thought I had gone out a little on the easy side but at the top of the first hill was shown it wasn’t the case and by the end of the 1.8km course was fully spent! I ended up 63rd out of 84 and in the top 75% of the field. I was stoked with this result and it should help considerably towards Olympic qualification which is sweet too!

Sochi Warm up

The next day was a rest day where Cal smashed out a good race in the 30km pursuit then the following day it was Vandy and I up again for the team sprint. I would have to say this was probably the toughest race I’ve ever done! The pace was on right from the start and the tough track along with minimal kick didn’t make it any easier. I was really just in the hurt box right from the start and I think Vandy was in a similar situation. We ended up 31st just ahead of the Chinese team.

Sochi group

We then flew into Switzerland and onto Davos. Yesterday we raced in a Swiss cup race (15km skate), conditions were slow and racing was tough. I was fatigued from some hard training leading in but managed to hold together an ok race but still finished in the lower half of the field.

Sochi august and I

Next weekend is the World Cup here in Davos which is a classic sprint and a 15km Skate. These races are then followed up quickly three days later by the first race of the Val de Fiemme World Champs in Italy. Hopefully I hit some sweet form and race super fast there…

Sochi fist pump

Leave a Reply

